Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-17-2013, 08:16 PM   #61
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Nope. It will be fine without adding anything. Purple up is after all just calcium and your salt mix has calcium so nothing to add.
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 02:58 PM   #62
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
What should be my next steps? Should I get sand in the tank and then add coral?
__________________

__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:20 PM   #63
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Bill0181's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 315
I would add sand before corals if you planning on having sand
__________________
Bill0181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:07 PM   #64
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigbooker View Post
What should be my next steps? Should I get sand in the tank and then add coral?
I would let your system mature a little before adding corals .
Some corals can't handle swings in salt or parameters .
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 01:56 AM   #65
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
So one of my green Chromis died today. I did a test on my water to see if there was a spike which caused it to die. Nitrates were still between 0-5ppm, nitrites were at 0ppm and ammonia was the only thing off between 0-0.25 ppm. I couldn't tell if the ammonia was up because of the dead fish in the tank or what. I have two other green Chromis in the tank.
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 01:58 AM   #66
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1276595731.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	213.4 KB
ID:	208474



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1460399236.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	188.1 KB
ID:	208475



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2480327012.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	182.2 KB
ID:	208476

Diatoms seem to be increasing, they have been around about a week now.
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 07:58 PM   #67
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
How do you reduce ammonia ? Nitrates and nitrites are at 0ppm.
__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:04 PM   #68
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Water change is the simplest way The question is where is the ammonia coming from?
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:36 PM   #69
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigbooker View Post
How do you reduce ammonia ? Nitrates and nitrites are at 0ppm.
Ammonia should be 0 and stay there if the tank is properly cycled ,
Even after adding a ammonia source it should get transformed into nitrites then nitrates within 24hrs
I feed my anemone 1 whole shrimp 2 times a week and my ammonia even then is always
0ppm
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 09:56 PM   #70
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 543
I had a Chromis die a few days ago. Could this cause a spike? I can't find the dead fish.
__________________

__________________
teklabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.