Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2012, 05:15 PM   #1
rav
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
rav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 89
GFCI

decided to get a GFCI (must have in my opinion) prior to getting the tank set up. looked for a "portable" one that could be plugged into the outlet. the ones I found would trip when the power went off so I decided to just replace the outlet with a GFCI - only took about 10 minutes and I hope to never need it but if I do I'll be glad it's there.
__________________

__________________
rav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:38 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
If you want to get technical, read through this:

Reef Central Online Community - View Single Post - Grounding probe? waste of money?

Larry posted this a while ago and is an excellent source of information on whether to use GFCI, AFCI or grounding probes.

Here's the summary if you don't read through it all - but I suggest you do:

"So in summary overall the safest for the aquarist will be the installation of AFCI, GFCI and Ground Probe. The safest for the inhabitants will be AFCI and GFCI without ground probe. This is the reason why many aquarist do not use ground probes (but will always use GFCIs) specially traveling ones that stay away for extended periods of time. If you have a remote alarm system installed that may page you or send you an E-Mail in case of a fault (Like the aqua controller from Neptune Systems) you shall have no doubts and have your Probe installed with your GFCI's)"

Credit: Reef Central Online Community - View Single Post - Grounding probe? waste of money?
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 05:50 PM   #3
rav
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
rav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 89
yep - that was technical!
__________________
rav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reef aquarium is eletricuting me Sqasnatch Saltwater Reef Aquaria 59 03-10-2012 08:26 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.