Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2015, 09:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 67
Ground probes

Ok, while researching HLLE (head and lateral line erosion) I came across the use of ground probes. Some people say always use one, some say its dangerous to use one. I have never heard of using them! In this hobby, you learn something new every day.
So who uses them and should I get one first thing tomorrow when the LFS opens?!



Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
kaileykari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:16 AM   #2
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,546
Sorry, in FW but saw this on ground probes and wondered what that was? Is it to earth the tank?
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 67
I think so. One site said to put probe in the tank, and other end around a pipe. Other site said out probe in tank and other end in electrical outlet. Very confusing 😳


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
kaileykari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:45 AM   #4
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,546
Following with interest
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 10:57 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,537
The point of a grounding probe is to be a preventative against stray voltage through the tank. The flip side of the coin here is that there are stories of a heater breaking and someone sticking their hand in and the hand completing the circuit with the probe, resulting in them being dead.
When it comes to voltage through our tanks, if something happens everything can be a'ok if managed properly. I had a heater with issues that has zapped me, but that is it. Simply replaced the heater.
Usually, the more appropriate method of addressing this would be by the use of outlets that will trip...I want to say GCI but haven't had my first cup of coffee yet today. This way if an issue arise it will trip and cut the power off.
Sniperhank is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:32 AM   #6
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I think you meant this Hank

How does a GFCI outlet work? - HowStuffWorks
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 11:38 AM   #7
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I also found this

Is Grounding an Aquarium Necessary?
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 06:42 AM   #8
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,546
As I understand it an RCD or GFCI may have some limitations as well? Link below. I always worry slightly on a light dropping in the tank or something even with the RCD / GFCI I have on the power point.


http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Residual-current_device


'An RCD will help to protect against electric shock where current flows through a person from a phase (live / line / hot) to earth. It cannot protect against electric shock where current flows through a person from phase to neutral or phase to phase, for example where a finger touches both live and neutral contacts in a light fitting; a device can not differentiate between current flow through an intended load from flow through a person, though the RCD may still trip if the person is in contact with the ground (earth) as some current will still pass through the persons finger and body to earth.'
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:41 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eastern Ohio
Posts: 123
I would think that you should use GFCI in conjunction with grounding the aquarium. This way there is a good path back to ground, allowing the GFCI to be able to detect the fault.
__________________
>> Jim C. <<
jrc0528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 05:38 AM   #10
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 13,546
Any links to buy one?. Not sure I will but curious what they look like.
__________________

__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
probes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New pond. Concrete/Tub vs liner and above ground vs in ground jkdubs2 Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 0 08-23-2012 02:09 PM
Ground probes and y they are not useful thras General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 16 11-19-2011 10:18 AM
Diatom filters and ground probes Tex General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 01-21-2006 08:57 PM
Ground probes melosu58 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 8 07-18-2005 05:48 PM
ABOVE-ground or IN-ground!!!! Bernie Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 8 03-15-2004 07:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.