PH Struggles

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kaxxian

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Forgive the length, I want to make sure you get the whole picture here.

I’m going to start by saying I don’t have any fish yet, so don’t fret!

I’m brand new to this hobby and I've got a 10 gallon tank that I’m still in the process of cycling. The plan is to get 1 male betta. I’ve got a heater and a sponge filter, fake plants and a couple decorations/caves. Plenty of places to hide and relax while still having room to swim around. I’m not super interested in getting real plants, I understand the benefit and that was the original plan, but I also know keeping plants alive has never been my strong suit and I’d rather get comfy caring for a fish before I add raising plants to the mix.

The water in my area is very hard and other fish keepers in my area have told me that no amount of conditioner or other water treatments will make tap water here safe for fish (in their experience) and that they just use water from the grocery store, so I got myself some 5 gallon jugs to refill as necessary, and put in the conditioner once I get them home so they’ll be prepped come water changing day. (I have a second heater and a separate clean water bucket to prepare in advance as well.)

When I first started testing the water, the PH was 6.0. The many articles, books, forums, etc. I’ve read say that the water is best for bettas at 7.0. Of course I’ve seen some that say 6.5-7.5 is a safe range, some say you can go all the way to 8, and down to 5.5. I’d like to keep it in the middle and in as healthy a condition as possible.