Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-03-2011, 12:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Batt4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 634
How much filtration/GPH?

As my household begins making plans for a major upgrade, though having a limited budget to do so, we are putting together a list of what we will need. Some things are not too difficult to figure (like how much substrate, and what lighting we will use), but having never ventured into the realm if "large" aquaria, the one area that I'm unsure of: filtration.

We have about narrowed tank size to something around 120-125g. This will be a planted FW tank, that will primarily be home to angelfish. The intent is for the tank to eventually be pretty heavily planted. So how much filtration should we be looking at? One large canister ("700gph" Odyssea for example), two smaller-capacity canisters? Any point of an HOB (like my current Emperor 400)? I know with the longer tanks like the 125, circulation/dead spots can be a concern (can be helped w/powerhead). I'm kind o leaning towards two mid-sized canisters ( thinking you still have some filtration if one filter has problems/breaks down). We have time, so no big hurry right now. Just trying to plan it all out so we can budget and not run I to too many unexpected "bumps".
__________________

__________________
Batt4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 02:52 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cumberland, MD
Posts: 2,444
I'm running 2 aquaclear 110's and an air-driven Hydrosponge in my 125. I always use 2 power filters on larger tanks, and one airline (usually sponge filter too) in all of them regardless of size. The only exception is the 10 gallon housing 5 white clouds.
__________________

__________________
toddnbecka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 02:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
Rule of thumb is 4 times the amount of tank. Example if you have a 100g tank you should have at least 400gph filter. I would go over that IMO. It's better to over filter then to under filter.
__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Batt4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 634
So, my current Emperor 400+ a good-size canister would get the job done...
__________________
Batt4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:24 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
Yea that is deff good
__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:26 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
James_in_MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loach23 View Post
Rule of thumb is 4 times the amount of tank. Example if you have a 100g tank you should have at least 400gph filter. I would go over that IMO. It's better to over filter then to under filter.
4x the amount of the tank seems low to me. I've been aiming at 10x the size of the tank for my main filter alone. For example, my 10g has an Aqueon Quietflow 10, and I'm replacing it with a AquaClear 20; both of those filters move 100 gph.
__________________
James_in_MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
I agree with James, on all my aquariums I have 10x the amount plus a few powerheads to decrease dead spots. However, I'm sure you could get away with 4x as long as you use power heads or circulation pumps
__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Loach23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stratford ct
Posts: 175
I agree. but i said was the MINIMUM is 4x the size of the tank. Like I said I would go over that amount.
__________________
Loach23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 01:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Batt4Christ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 634
So- by that line of thinking. A 125g would "need" 1250gph worth of flow/filtration.
__________________
Batt4Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:49 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,537
You can never have too much filtration and depended on what your putting in (plants, rocks, etc) 4x won't be enough because those all create dead spots
__________________

__________________
Fishkeeper26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, gph

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
Pump GPH Ksnell Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-18-2006 11:53 PM
Proper gph for water filtration? Zagz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 26 07-26-2005 12:45 PM
my first fuge: overflow gph vs. return pump gph copi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 05-05-2005 10:58 PM
How much GPH powerheads mike333 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 05-01-2005 02:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.