Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2011, 05:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Talking Need some input on a Sump

I found this item while surfing CL. He's been trying to sell it for $250 for the last 2 months and dropped his price to $125.

AQUARIUM wet/dry sump

I just don't understand the layout? How do you have bioballs in the middle? And is that an external return pump with a shut off valve on the right? cause that looks very cool. it's huge but luckily it will fit under my stand. I wanted to have a refugium and this looks like it might work for that if I moved the bioballs over to the left...or is that where the skimmer goes? LOL

See, I have no idea.

check it out and tell me what you guys think

Thanks!!
__________________

__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
That is an external pump I personally would put live sand and rock where the bio balls are assuming there is enough room for the skimmer in the first section
__________________

__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I was thinking making it a refugium if theres enough room. that would be my perfect setup. But I'm just not sure how the water comes in that first chamber and get to the second, does the skimmer if it's in the first section pump into the second section? Or is it like regular physics and water rising?
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:12 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
It looks like there is a bulkhead where the water comes into the first chamber you can see it in the third picture on the left side. My experience with skimmers (which is very little) you can have it pump into the second chamber but moost likely most of the water flow through the sump will be just water simply overflowing
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Thanks so much! I'm really new to sumps. I appreciate the responses.

Would you buy it for a 125g reef tank? If you were strapped for cash that is...lol
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Well mine was a diy sump that is real similar to that design in a 29 gallon tank and with the pump it cost me about $200 dollars to build So it sounds to me like a good deal. With the 3000 gph pump that it comes with I think it would be sufficient for a 125 gallon tank. Does you tank have built in overflows?
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Nope. There is an overflow included with the sump though
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 06:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
Ah cool thats a plus That way you are not trying to get one or build one. Drilling your tank would be best but if you are like me I didnt want to chance breaking it
__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:02 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
I also have a chip in the glass corner so i don't wanna risk any extra pressures or jinx that it's holding water. LOL

It's been full since Friday and not a drip has come out of it. Also looks like there is no bowing on either support beam. I think I may be ok.

SOOOO, I was thinking of keeping the water in it til I get s sump and then trying to figure it out in the garage in case I have a flood. I have no idea what I'm doing. Or am I making too much work for myself? How hard is it to setup and then dis assemble?
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 07:08 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rscomia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: West Plains Missouri
Posts: 1,010
There is a little bit of work to it but I dont think it is anything to complicated Since it does come with all the hoses it will make it alot easier worst case you may have to change the lenght of them and they look like they are flexible pvc which is real easy to do
__________________

__________________
Its not impossible It just cost more.
Rscomia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some input on what I currently doing. solidsnakejv Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 07-21-2009 11:44 AM
YO - I NEED SOME INPUT Kuro Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-23-2006 10:27 PM
need input charis Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 08-05-2004 08:56 PM
Need your input Sinuhe Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 10-26-2003 10:52 AM
Want some input Hara Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 09-16-2003 05:49 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.