Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2010, 02:19 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to PK Tester Send a message via MSN to PK Tester Send a message via Yahoo to PK Tester
Overflow Box and Sump Question

So I have a few questions!

I bought an overflow box that is rated at 600GPH.

I bought a pump that is rated at 540GPH.

Now, my sump does not overflow, but it is half full of water, and I feel like it is a little too full. It is above the MARKED water level on the sump itself.

It is stable at this about half full level, do you guys think it is necessary for me to buy a bigger pump?
__________________

__________________
PK Tester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
We need some more Info. What size tank..what size sump. how deep is the water in the sump. how far is it from the top. I your skimmer ok.....and so on
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 04:25 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
dannyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 438
Should be fine.

Dont forget your headloss though from the pump. Maybe you should of gotten a 600GPH pump as well because it going up however far, It'll loose "GPH".
But it'll work.

To test if you have a power outage or siphon break..

Pull the plug on the tank.. Watch the water go into the sump and see where it stops by itself.. (where the overflow box stops siphoning).

If you see it and its going to overflow the sump, break the siphon.. and obviously your going to have to have your sump less full unless you want a flood in a power outage.

Now to test your siphon breaking.. Well you dont really need to test it.
But a float switch is a good idea for a pump. Connect it all up and if your siphon breaks the float switch goes off and turns the pump off stopping the pump from pumping all the water into the DT causing it to flood.

Also, Be aware that the return pump that goes into the DT will siphon to the sump as well when the power goes out or if you run that float switch. So make sure your return line into the DT is as short as possible to the waters surface in the DT.

Hope ive made sense. Lol.
__________________
dannyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 09:41 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oak Forest, IL
Posts: 4,388
Your overflow should always have a larger flowrate than your pump to prevent flooding. The pump is the driving factor in the system. The overflow can only flow as much water as the pump pushes back up.

Try raising the overflow box in the tank or removing some water from the system. Theoretically, your tank should have a constant water level and the sump a variable water level. Raising the overflow box will increase the volume of water in the tank, reducing the sump level.
__________________
BigJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 02:53 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion forum.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 10:52 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to PK Tester Send a message via MSN to PK Tester Send a message via Yahoo to PK Tester
Thank you guys for all the help!

If I turn the power off, everything stays constant. I left the pump off all night, nothing over flowed at all.

Also, I did raise the over flow box a little bit, and did get the sump level to drop, however I still don't know if it is going to be extremely effective as a filter being half full.

Right now, I still have the bioballs in it that came with it until I get reef rock to put in it and they float high. Half of them are in water and half of them are out of water.

The water is about two inches above the MARKED water level on the Eshopp Sump, but like I said it does not overflow if you turn everything off.

Do you guys think it would still filter good enough...or should I get a bigger pump?
__________________
PK Tester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2010, 06:49 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
no, it should be fine,you'll find the water level will drop in your sump(return pump section) first due to evaporation,as long as it doesn't overflow during pump shut down just leave it until evaporation drops it to the level you want.then shut down your return pum and then mark all your levels in your sump with a permanent marker pen,do your pwc and water make up to these marks then turn the pump back on.this should keep your levels,just keep adding ro/di for evaporation.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow and Sump.... veetors Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-04-2009 08:14 PM
Overflow boxes/sump/wet/dry question. binaryterror General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-02-2006 06:47 PM
CPR overflow/sump? MT79 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 11-07-2005 02:46 PM
overflow to sump ? darb2 DIY Projects 1 03-03-2005 09:29 AM
Sump/overflow question fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 09-24-2004 04:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.