Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-23-2007, 02:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
PH required for pushing H2O thru a chiller

Hello. I am going to be installing a chiller soon into a reef tank. The person I am installing it for wants flex tubing for the plumbing job. Therefore, I am thinking about placing a Mag 5 in their sump to push water to the chiller. The Mag 5 would be dedicated to the chiller, and wouldnt power anything else. It is a 1/3 HP Current USA model. Does anyone foresee any issues with this? TIA.

Andy
__________________

__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2007, 09:10 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
That chiller is rated for flow rates of 720-1320 GPH so you might want to get a 9.5 or Mag 12 for better results. What sized tank is it going on and what amount of cooling is needed?

There are plenty of other quality pumps on the market as well.

Browse through www.marineandreef.com for other brands.
__________________

__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 12:25 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
Thanks. It is going on a 90. That is what they wanted to do. The 9.5 or 12 will not fit. It's one of those "space constraint" issues.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 01:21 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The Mag 5 will work but just not as efficiently. I assume the chiller is under the tank as well and the intake/return will be getting water from the sump and returning to the sump.

Since the chiller can handle higher GPH loads couldn't you use a larger pump to go through the chiller and return to the tank thus reducing the need for two pumps?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 01:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
They have a Little Giant external pump handling the return, etc. The Mag 5 is dedicated to the chiller, and is submerged in the sump. The chiller is outside of the stand, to the left. There is absolutely no room left in the stand now. Everything seems to be going fine. Thanks for the input.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chi, chiller

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pushing the limits of a 29g? reun Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 10-12-2008 05:07 PM
Something in my LR pushing out mounds vietcu Saltwater & Reef - Identification 0 03-07-2008 10:28 PM
Am I Pushing it. KevyMv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-12-2006 10:40 AM
chiller required with metal halides? supermarvin76 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 05-16-2005 10:45 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.