Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-28-2005, 07:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
QT tank setup.

Hello all, now that my 75gal tank seems to be supporting life and has cycled I want to start adding more fish to keep our clown fish company.I went and bought a 10 gal QT tank, Millennium 1000 wet/dry filter and I have a 200 watt heater to keep those fluctuations in check...anyway how should I set this up because its only needed for fish right? as inverts arent susceptible to fish disease right??? Should I use water from main tank or mix new?Should I lower the sp g or keep it at the main tank level? oh so many questions ....

Edit: (All living in the 75 gal)
I have an Ocellaris Clown fish (3 1/2 weeks old, 1"1/2 long)
5 peppermint shrimp
4 emerald crabs
20 blueleg hermits
20scarlet hermits
5 nasssarius snails
20 astrea snails
1 coral banded shrimp
__________________

__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 08:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to Brodie
I wouldn't add anything else. You have an enormous amount of creatures in your tank. If anything, I would thin that down significantly, or you're going to have big problems.
__________________

__________________
Be ocean minded, keep our beaches clean.
Brodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 08:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie
I wouldn't add anything else. You have an enormous amount of creatures in your tank. If anything, I would thin that down significantly, or you're going to have big problems.
Just so you know, All those critters are in a 75 gal tank with 90lbs of liverock and a 15gal refuge/5gal sump...not in a 10gal tank...Thats going to be the hospital tank if you will...
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 08:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gainesville, Florida
Posts: 346
Send a message via AIM to Brodie
Ah..that would make much more sense. I'm sorry for jumping to conclusions. With a QT tank, it really depends on what method you want to use, hyposalinity (lower salinity), or a copper treatment. What method are you planning for a qt?
__________________
Be ocean minded, keep our beaches clean.
Brodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 08:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodie
Ah..that would make much more sense. I'm sorry for jumping to conclusions. With a QT tank, it really depends on what method you want to use, hyposalinity (lower salinity), or a copper treatment. What method are you planning for a qt?
Thats ok,I should have been more clear (i have since used the edit button)
anyway I not sure what would be best,This is my first marine aquarium and Im not sure...I would like to QT all the fish I purchase as to limit possible infections to the main tank.
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 09:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
QT'ing all your fish prior to intro to the main is the way to go. I keep some base rock in my QT so the tank is always seeded. When I do not have fish in it I feed the tank. I also throw a poly filter in my main a week before I plan on getting fish to add additional bacteria. Poly filters and Pura filters work great for keeping the bad stuff out of your water. If you treat with copper etc I would remove any rock etc that is in the QT as it will be ruined once it has "medicine" in it. I keep a 30 gallon trash can of water mixed constantly for water changes in the QT. I have never had to treat anything other than using hypo. HTH
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 10:46 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
my plan is to QT all incoming fish, How long should the QT tank be running before its used? I can use some water from the main tank and put a piece of liverock in there too,I have a filter pad from my trickle filter soaking in the sump that I could use to seed the Millennium 1000 wet/dry filter do you think this will work? thats my plan anyway. and should the specific gravity be lowered or kept the same as the main?
__________________
reefbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2005, 11:15 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: georgia
Posts: 347
like brodie said, depends on the method you use to treat. i would go the same as the main tank so you can cut down on aclimation between the two. you can also pull the rock out and lower your salinity to "hypo" if need be without much trouble.
__________________
dorian965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2005, 11:48 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
The only problem with putting LR in the QT is that IF you have to pull out the LR to do hypo or even copper, your pulling out the bacteria base and then the levels will tend to spike on you...happened to me at least. I still battle with keeping a QT...I use PVC pipe and let the bacteria grow on there. Bu then again I have found if you keep filters of any sort in a QT, the levels tend to rise as well. Cant seem to find a method that works for me...please send me more info as well as the original poster if someone doesnt mind.
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
qt tank, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whole tank setup melosu58 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 25 03-20-2008 04:32 PM
new tank setup crook280 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-11-2005 02:52 AM
30-40 gallon tank or hole setup wanted?Or any ref ready tank Dewey Midwest & the Dakotas 2 03-13-2005 10:12 PM
How does this tank setup look? Rsquared333 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 08-21-2004 11:27 PM
New Tank Setup ram6519 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-03-2004 08:37 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.