Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-17-2005, 08:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cape Neddick, ME and Lowell, MA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to chris stevens
RO/DI again

I'm looking to take the cheapest route into the RO or RO/DI world, without compromising my water quality. Are the Kent Marine "Bare Bones" systems even worth checking out? What is the least expensive RO or RO/DI unit out there that is worth the price? Any other opinions on the RO/RO/DI debate? should I definitely stick with RO/DI?
__________________

__________________
chris stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 09:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Go for the RO/DI right off the bat. I do not think the Bare Bones by Kent has the DI component. Check ebay or www.captivereefs.com for some good prices.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2005, 10:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Yep, I also second the RO/DI route all the way. It took me 3 days to fill my 125 (+25 gal. sump), but well worth it.

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:48 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 62
http://www.ro-man.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=22&products_id=90
__________________
cardinal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 05:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 101
I just received my ro/di machine in the mail yesterday, very impressed with the product. The company is aquasafesystems they are based out of canada.

Here is what i ordered:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...382961913&rd=1
__________________
dr.diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 01:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 73
I also bought one from Aquasafe. I was impressed with the unit. I am almost ready to fill my tank up.
__________________
Todd
150 Gallon FOWLR
Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 07:10 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
I have one too. Has been working well since I installed it last fall. I have a pic of it my gallery:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/photop...cat=500&page=1

8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 11:57 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cape Neddick, ME and Lowell, MA
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to chris stevens
How about the Value Line RO/DI from aquaticreefsystems.com? seems to be a good buy, but why is it "value line"? The only Aquasafe I could find was in the UK?
__________________
chris stevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 01:58 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
how often do you need to change the to filters? This looks like a good deal...especially the one that comes with the 4.4 gal pressure container.
I will do this....!!!!
dumb question - is this good water for dranking and ice?
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2005, 11:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 9
Serge
I just look at your pic of your RO/DI system, it scares me lol because I live in an small appartement, do I have to do that also? I'm going to buy a ro/di system on ebay the aqua-safe. I was wondering if I had to leave it plug on my sink all the time ? Can I just plug it when it's time for my water change?
__________________

__________________
Jellybaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.