Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-01-2006, 08:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 300
Wow...that seems very expensive for Ro only.
__________________

__________________
demodiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 10:38 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Seachem and others
Thanks for all the info. I looked at the website Seachem gave and the prices are good. I have one that I have used in the past called waterfiltersonline.com. They are almost the same price except for the the micro and its $4 cheaper.
I will check out lowes and HD for the microns. I am only able to use the DI cartridge for about 3-5 months. The water here seems to really wear them out. My carbon block and micron appear to last longer.
Afilter I think I will check into my local water company and how much they charge for a set up like yours...that sounds nice and convienent!
__________________

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 11:35 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
Seems expensive upfront, but if I get 4-5 years or more out of a membrane it will more than pay for itself considering most membranes run $60-100 and many of the online sites suggest they only last about 1 year.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 08:06 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
All the major brand membranes last3-5 years depending on your water quality to start. AWI sells membranes and I bet there the same quality your water company uses. If it works for you then the water company is the way to go. But don't fall for that line that we have a far better product then any online store can get you.
Did he tell you that if your water pressure is low that will effect the water output and the length your membrane lasts?
And at $300+ I can get a unit from ebay and have money left over to buy replacement filters, membrane and a fish or 2. JMO.. Sounds like the Water company should open a LFS.
Down side I had to heek ot up myself... which was not a mahor project .. Hope it woeks out for you.. Post some picks when there done..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 10:05 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,341
We will see. Yes he did explain water pressure and I am fortunate that the city has good pressure. Considering I am getting an extra 40g tank plumbed with auto shut off just for fish water it seems like a good deal. Quite frankly for me installation is a good thing as I prefer not to deal with that.

I will get some pics when it is done.
__________________
Aaron

Tank: 90 Gal SW Reef in the making

See my info for setup and inhabitant details:
afilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2006, 10:10 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Quote:
I am getting an extra 40g tank plumbed with auto shut off just for fish water
Good investment. I love my new SW mixing tank.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 03:42 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Seaham
Went to Lowes today and bought a variety of things. I picked up a 2 pack of the basic Micron filters for $7.17 which is better than what I can get them off the internet for. However they are "string" filters which I have used before. They are 5 Micron which is perfect.
I also picked up a 3 pack of 1 micron prefilter and 2 carbon blocks. However the carbon blocks are 15-20 Micron and the ones that I have used previously are 10 mircon. Do you or anyone else think this is not good enough to use?
Lastly I bought an inline filter (figured it cant hurt) that filters sediment and chlorine out of the water. Its like a polisher...going to put this as the last stage. Or do you think I should do is as the first stage?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 03:50 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Heres a pic of the filters..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg filters.jpg (62.9 KB, 16 views)
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 10:59 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Bump
Look at the pics I posted of the filters from Lowes. Anyone use these?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:11 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
I use the string filters as a pre filter on my water systems, I run a ro/di and kold - ster-il system. ONe for the reef the other for fowlr system. I would run the extra for the pre filter that way the difference in the carbon micron won't make much of a difference. i went to airwaterice and read up on his opinions on what micron to run where and I have been real happy with filter life following his advice.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro unit, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO Unit question Jaybird Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 09-17-2009 11:28 PM
Ro/DI Unit Question? Tank2379 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 01-21-2009 05:04 PM
New Here. Question about RO Unit ReeferZach General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 04-19-2007 03:10 PM
RO Unit Question jwright Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 06-05-2006 07:09 PM
RO/DI Unit question ericosuave Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 02-26-2004 07:58 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.