Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-19-2012, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Sediment filter micron size

Long story short purewater club didn't send me my sediment filter when I ordered the replacement kit. So I ordered 2 from brs . I got a 1 micron and a 5 micron since I wasn't sure which one I needed. Anyone have insight on which one is better?
__________________

__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:15 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Not rally which one is better, the smaller micron will get the smaller pieces, but will most likely need replacing before the larger micron filter because of that. You could just order another canister and run them both
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:31 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Ok that's what I figured . Thanks
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
And I just checked my 5 stage from BRS, it came with a 5 micron sediment filter... I get about 10ppm on the TDS after the RO, and 0 after the DI, so you would probably be good with the 5...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 03:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Ok thanks. Another question after I replace all my filters besides the membrane do I have to throw away the first 5 gallons like I did when I first turned it on ?
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:38 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Wouldn't hurt...
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 04:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Wouldn't hurt...
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dim, filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.