Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-27-2011, 09:49 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TigerBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,212
Subsrate rake

A company needs to make some sort of substrate rake. Its really annoying to go in my tank with my hands or the back of a net and airate the sand. A rake would be so much easier! I think its a great idea! Ive thought about making one but my idea was bending a coathanger but wouldnt the metal be bad in my tank?
__________________

__________________
TigerBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:50 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TigerBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,212
The title is subsTrate rake. I spelled it wrong.
__________________

__________________
TigerBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
Aerating the substrate is a moot point. It's not necessary at all, despite the constantly regurgitated idea that sand creates these extremely toxic anaerobic pockets of gas that can kill fish (that is simply not true). There are tools availble for scaping though. Sand Flattner [106-021] - $39.00 : Aqua Forest Aquarium, ADA USA, Aqua Design Amano
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:35 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aski247's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Maryland, in between DC an Baltimore.
Posts: 1,095
I would think just use a Large tooth'ed comb if ya really wanted to "rake" the sand.
__________________
Aski247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Indiana
Posts: 14
They do make themÖthey're called "back scratchers".
__________________
Fish Whisperer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:49 PM   #6
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
This is what I use, it has a rake attachment.

Petco Multi-Functional Tool for Glass Aquariums at PETCO
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TigerBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,212
I airate my sand because it turns brown if i dont. Airating releases all the crap tht settles down in the sand. A comb is a good idea though. So is that tool from petco
__________________
TigerBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:10 PM   #8
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by TigerBarbs View Post
I airate my sand because it turns brown if i dont. Airating releases all the crap tht settles down in the sand. A comb is a good idea though. So is that tool from petco
Yep it is. The handle also extends for taller tanks, I have 2 tanks that are 31 inches deep, this works great.

I rake my sand after cleaning with my python, just to get it the way I like it.
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:59 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i never disrupt the sand. if you have enough flow in the tank your sand bed shouldn't collect much.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 05:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TigerBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,212
Its fw with not much flow at all
__________________

__________________
TigerBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
good blue ram subsrate? CleverBs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-07-2011 06:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.