Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-10-2006, 12:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
sump help

Hello, i'm haveing some problems with my sump. We have an All-glass 155 gallon bow-front with 2 mega-flows. The sump is an All-glass model 4. The problem is with the flow in to the sump from only one of the drain lines. The water will backup in the mega flow then chug its way down the drain line causeing the water to splash out in to the sump. Why is it doing this? We have 2 Rio 2500 pumps, one for each side. We've been doing aquariums for years, this is the first sump we've dealt with. Please help.
Thanks
__________________

__________________
eric m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 11:42 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Uhm, a kink or bend in the drain line? I am not familiar with your brand of sump. Or do you think it is purely an overflow unit problem?

Sumps definitely gurgle more than other filters, but the surges and splashes have to be from some form of obstruction to water flow, at least I would think.
__________________

__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 02:17 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
sump help

After i posted the message i moved the sump over so i could what whats happening on that side. I noticed that it's air being forced down the line, then coming to the surface in sump which is causeing the splashing. i think theres to much water flow going into the megaflow box. I backed off the retuen line pressure and it stopped, but the drawback is theres not much flow coming out of the return line. I was told if the floor wasn't level perfectly it wouldn't make a big difference. but in this case the floor slopes to that side make more water going into that box. Can i shim up that side under the stand safely? Thanks for your help.
__________________
eric m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 10:31 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TomK2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glen Ellyn, IL
Posts: 2,085
Yes, you can shim up a tank to make it level. Your hardware store will sell the wooden shims that you can put under the stand, where needed. Use a level, and if you don't have one, you can use the water in the tank as a level. If you get is so that it is a uniform distance below the top of the tank, its essentially the same thing as a level.

Using shims to make a tank level is actually recommended, it keeps the pressures and forces created by all that water equal throughout the tank.

Make sure you don't have any bends, kinks, or "u's" in the drain lines. In a typical sump set up, the outflow hoses are larger than the inflow hoses, and have a higher capacity than the inflow hoses. This prevents flooding. The drain hoses are normally not completely filled with water, but have air in them and the water travelling down them. This is where much of the gurgling sound comes from. If you have a bend in the outflow hose, water will stall there, until enough water accumulates to occlude the hose then air and water behind it will force it through the bend. This will cause a surge of water and air distal to the bend.

Besides leveling the tank, you can adjust the depth of each overflow box to adjust the amount of water that goes through each box, and adjust the level of water in the tank. That is assuming you have a tank with hang on the back overflow boxes, I don't know if tanks with the built in overflows are adjustable.
__________________
TomK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2006, 03:01 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
The megalfow boxes are contained in the tank. They are adhered to the inside back of the tank with the 2 holes in in the bottom each meagaflow for the drain and return line. we had to buy these kits that contained the bulkheads and PVC for drain and return lines. The drain line is adjustable, but nothing i did there solved the problem. Thank you for your help again!
__________________
eric m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 02:10 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
It sounds like you have a drilled tank with 2 internal overflows, one on each end.

For this setup, the water level in the tank is determined by the height of the raker teeth. If your tank is not level, one of your box may be deeper than the other, thus receiving preferential flow.

Second, the standpipes inside the overflow boxes has to be of the same height. If one of your standpipe is higher than the water level, you will not get flow through it.

I am assuming that you ahv echecked for kinks, blockages ... etc.

Finally, you might post this in the SW forum. The salties have far more experience with overflows & sumps than us FW folks.
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 07:20 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
czcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,821
If you have this thing, try playing with that attachment at the top of the standpipe, if it adjusts air entry to the line: http://www.all-glass.com/products/aq...gaflow_pic.jpg

Also check out the Flushing Effect FAQ at the bottom of this page: http://www.rl180reef.com/180/pages/s.../construct.htm
__________________
"2- before attempting to plant, have a beer or a Bourbon. That will help to steady your hands…" -- elwaine

wet.biggiantnerds.com
czcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2006, 10:49 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
sump help

So far i've shimed up the stand, adjusted drainpipes and now everything is running smoothly. I just want to say thanks for everyones input, it's been a lot of help. Thank you!
__________________

__________________
eric m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 03:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 07:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 01:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 06:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.