Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2007, 12:57 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
A properly constructed overflow and sump will not flood. The sump needs to have enough room so that in a power outage it will not flood before the siphon breaks. Whenthe siphon breaks it will stop the water flow from the tank to the sump. The return pump needs to be sized so that it does not pump water back to the tank faster that the overflow drains it. The overflow will have a gph rating and the pump output should match that.

Check out Sumps Explained, Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sumps, Part I and Melev's Reef - Sumps & Fuge's for more detailed explanations.

Many people here have the CPR overflow and love them. I'm not sure it will work on your tank though. You may need to go DIY or custom.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 01:47 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Man that sucks I really want the CPR I didnt see any measurements though...
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 11:49 AM   #13
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
I have no first hand experience with the CPR overflow, but I do know they recommend hooking up an aqua lifter pump to it to keep air bubbles from accumulating and stopping the siphon.
I've always used the u-tube type overflows on my tank and it never had a problem with it. http://www.championlighting.com/prod...roductid=22071

When I get home, I can measure the distance on the inside of the U and you can get an idea if it will fit on your top. A properly setup overflow and sump will never flood. You must have enough room in your sump so that when the power goes out, or you shut down the pump, the water draining out of the tank stops at a certain point. I have mine setup so the return lines from the pump are only about 1 1/2" below the surface, which is about 1/2" lower than the point where the overflow stops draining. The overflow doesn't loose siphon, it's just the water is too low for it to drain thru it. When I shut down my pump, the water will drain into the sump thru the return line until the water level drops and it looses the siphon. If your return line is too deep, water will drain till it reaches it and can flood your sump.
Here's a pic of my overflow and return line. http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=101135
__________________
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 09:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Looks good. I am about to build my sump as we speak I asked the owner of the LFS about the CPR overflow and he said he has used them and never had a problem in his opinion they are the best HOB overflows. He also told me with a sump i dont need to run a mechanical filter though it doesn't hurt is that true?
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 10:50 PM   #15
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,362
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Like I said, I never used the CPR, but have used the u-tube type since I set my tank up. Just as long as you know about the lift pump needed to go along with the CPR.
You don't need any mechanical filter, but you can use a sponge on the intake of your overflow or a filter sock on the line coming into the sump. I don't use either, but if you do make sure you clean them very often.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 11:12 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Well that cuts down the cost of this project a little No buying a filter Yes I understand I have to use the vacum pump with the CPR the owner of the LFS explained that to me also. Is it a good idea to use LR rubble and like bioballs or plastic scrubbies? Or just the fake stuff and no LR?
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triming time, time to give awya some stuff. PsiPro Archive 1 01-14-2008 09:50 AM
Time to pay the piper - adding a sump Maximo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-22-2005 12:34 AM
Ok it's war time... Time for crab trap ! XXFirefighter Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 04-25-2004 03:24 AM
Just finished my DIY sump cabinet - NO Investment but time alarmguy66 DIY Projects 6 12-22-2003 11:33 PM
Sump off time pipermurphy Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 04-08-2003 10:49 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.