Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2008, 07:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
tank resealing

Hello,
I want to start by thanking everyone who replied to my last post some time ago with advice--i have been busy as of late but now I have a new situation
I just recived a 55 gallon tank for free from someone who was getting rid of it--it sat in his wall for 16 years. In the time he owned it it never leaked but the previous owner had a leak on one side seam and he fixed it by slathering on a rather thick unsightly layer of black silicone which does not match the clear silicone in the tank. After reading some information, I scraped off the seam and bought some all glass aquarium silcone but now I have a dilemma. While removing the silicone, the silicone between the two panes of glass was removed in some places. From what I understand, the silicone in the tank on the corner keeps the water in, but the silicone between the glass holds the tank together

One LFS said that if I apply the silicone inside and outside and force it int he the gap it will be fine and the plastic frame will also help holding the tank together--she was against taking the whole tank apart
the other LFS said that the tank would almost certainly blow out in time and only gave the repair about a year, and only if the whole pane was removed and reset. So what do I do? Can i get away with just applying silicone as is, or will I have 600 pounds of water on the floor? (remember the really sloppy repair did last 16 years but it was not between the glass)
thanks alot
__________________

__________________
xcugat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:24 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Moved to General Hardware and equipment discussion.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:26 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Mike, it doesn't look like you moved this. I'll move it for ya.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:27 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Hmm, maybe you were in the process of moving it, lol!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:12 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
Can't believe no one has replied. When you say that some of the silicone came out from between the panes, do you mean it all came out, or just a bit? If a tank is well built it will hold water even without the interior bead. The interior bead is more of a backup against leaks, or imperfect builds. You should be able to safely reseal the tank and have years of trouble free service.
Make sure all the old silicone is removed. When you are sure that you got it all, get a new blade and go over it all again. I like to go a little beyond the old bead to get on virgin glass, but in any case clean well with alcohol or acetone before applying silicone. If you want a really neat job, you can mask the areas you want the seams to end at; the masking tape needs to come off as soon as the bead has been smoothed.
I always do a dry run before I start to make sure I have it set for the easiest install. This is more critical in a large tank, where a helper is handy to turn it. in the fiuture you can save a pile of money on silicone by buying GE Silicone I for windows and doors. There are other brands that say ideal for aquariums on them, such as building centre house brands which is what I usually use.
I think you are good to go. I'm doing a 90 tommorrow.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 01:18 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Wow, Bill, thanks for the reply. I don't know how this went un-addressed!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2008, 10:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Thank you for the reply--I thought for a while I was left for dead!
Anyway I have removed all of the interior silicone, which as you confirmed for me is more of a safe guard anyway. Between the panes of glass there is still silicone, though In large areas it is only attached to one of the two panes--It was cut away from the other inadvertently. Should I remove this silicone all together, as silcone does not bond well with old silcone? I dont want to do more damage, and I really dont want to have to take the whole tank apart. If I were to apply silcone both on the inside and thinly on the outside where the two panes meet, could I force silicone in the crack, or do the panes need to be completely removed and silcone applied on the edge of the glass? (again I really dont want to take it all apart) thanks alot
__________________
xcugat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2008, 02:54 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
If you have some that you can remove from between the panes, I would try and remove it. If you can get it out, then, when you apply the new, it should fill in the gaps.
__________________

__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
seal, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resealing a Tank AngelaOlsenFan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-30-2006 11:54 PM
Help with Resealing Tank Please! Macmommy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 08-30-2005 10:46 PM
resealing tank tiredfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 02-04-2005 05:49 PM
Resealing a Tank fitsforfish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 02-22-2004 02:05 AM
When Resealing a Tank is it O.K. too. . . . . . perrymedik DIY Projects 1 01-11-2004 03:33 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.