Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-27-2015, 09:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 67
Tetra 29 gallon kit

Recently purchased the Tetra 29 gallon kit. Unfortunately I no longer have the box and it's almost impossible to find specifications for the lighting. Anyone have this set up or know anything about it? I.e kelvin, wattage ect?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
markteaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
I have it! The lighting is, in a word, abysmal. I don't remember the exact specs but I looked them up a while back and suffice to say I don't think it's even good enough for java moss.
__________________

__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:11 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 67
Oh god 😩 did you upgrade in any way bud? I love the sleek look to it but I would like to grow plants more


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markteaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Quote:
Originally Posted by markteaa View Post
Oh god 😩 did you upgrade in any way bud? I love the sleek look to it but I would like to grow plants more


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
Nah, I've never even done plants until the dwarf puffer tank i set up. I considered it for the 29 kit, but the lights were too low and my fiance and I couldn't afford to upgrade it. Plus, it was her first fish tank so she wanted to keep it simple and stick with fish.

I'm fairly certain though that you could rip out the LEDs that are in it and replace them with better ones? I know very little about lighting so I don't know about how you'd go about that but I do recall the lights themselves being removable.
__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:26 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 67
Thanks a lot but. If I look into it I'll be sure to let you know if I find a cheap way


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markteaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Finntastic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,055
Instead of plants you could make a coldwater stream tank with fish such as white cloud mountain minnows, and hillstream loaches. The lighting would be fine and all you would need is a small powerhead and some rocks and you should be fine. The light would cause enough algae growth for the loaches to graze on. I know this because i had the same kit for my 10 gallon.
__________________
Finntastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 67
Thanks a lot for the recommendation. Unfortunately I already have a few fish lined up just dying to relocate so it's not really an option for me. Appreciate it though


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markteaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 04:09 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 67
Just going to upgrade to new hood and lights. Can anybody recommend one? Dimension are 30x18. Don't care if it is fluorescent or LED. Need lights to grow at least low light plants but preferably medium. The cheaper the better as long as it works but any suggestions are welcome


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
markteaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 06:36 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
sinibotia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Central Maine
Posts: 3,904
Send a message via Skype™ to sinibotia
Finnex Stingry LED is fairly cheap, and is good for low light/low tech setups. Definitely go for an LED because fluorescents have to be changed much more often then LEDs so you'll save money in the long run.
__________________

__________________
Got a question about loaches? Ask me!
Loach count: 22
Baby fish count: 12 (multis)
sinibotia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, gallon, tetra

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra 29095 Cube Aquarium Kit, 3-Gallon Hummingguppy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 06-09-2014 09:06 PM
Tetra 55 gallon aquarium starter kit? FishBoy185 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 05-12-2013 05:52 PM
Phosphate test kit dark blue...range higher than max on kit MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-13-2007 08:20 AM
To Kit, or Not To Kit CannibalCrowley Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 12-14-2005 03:23 PM
Need quick advice on tetra test kit!!! abomb Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 03-02-2004 05:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.