Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Top off system recommendation?

Looking at this JBJ system. Works with 2 floats. I'm needing to complete my undertank buildout for my FW reservoir. I'd prefer to raise the FW tank and let it gravity flow with a shut off/float valve (Kent, Coralife, etc), but by the time I get it above the sump water level, I don't have much room for FW. Any, check this out (option B).

I kinda like the way this looks. Anyone have any thoughts or experience with these?

http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_...er.asp?CartId=
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 11:45 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 617
I have a different sort that is just a single float switch connected to a pump in the FW tank. Having a 2nd float switch as insurance is a good idea (if that's what the 2nd one is for). My float switch gets sticky with either salt or calcium and get stuck if I let it go for more than a few months without soaking it in vinegar. And when that happens... I end up with a flood.
__________________

__________________
Gatorfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 12:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
Quote:
I'd prefer to raise the FW tank and let it gravity flow with a shut off/float valve (Kent, Coralife, etc)
Why not just run a line from your RO directly into the float valve and hide the tubing. Is that a possibility with your setup? If it is, it's the easiest.
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 12:54 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
The RO is completely on the other side of the house. That would be a logistics problem, not to mention the boss lady's concern about me putting more holes in walls. The tank is in a competely finished area of the basement.

Gator, the second float is to ensure the supply pump doesn't try to pump if the reservoir is empty or too low. Trying for about a 35g reservoir hoping that with the 834w I can avoid topping off the reservoir for at leasta whole week. Would love more.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 01:12 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Ray,

I've been looking at that same setup. Please buy it and let us know how it works
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 01:25 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
OK. You looked at it first it sounds like.

So, you order it (pls do overnight shipping), set it up (that'd be by tomorrow night, right), and lemme know ASAP so I can decide.

Alright, I'm so easy. I will most likely order today or tomorrow. Guess I'd get it by Mondayish and letcha know.

Gonna try to do some web surfing to see if I can find some reviews first. Help me out finding some, 'cause I'm definitely ready to bite on this.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 02:07 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Have you looked at the ones on autotopoff.com? They seem to use good reliable parts and cost about 40% less.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 02:42 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
They do look good, but it appears that you have to buy the pieces separately. The pump, a hose, and then the float switches. The JBJ looks like one unit that has both floats and the pump all in one.

Edited - - Upon further look, I see 'd still have to buy a pump and hose.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:05 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
You might find this link useful...

http://www.fantasyreef.com/viewtopic.php?t=616
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 03:20 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
The JBJ A.T.O. doesn’t come with hoses or a pump either for the $99 listed. Or am I missing it? Pumps and hoses for either shouldn’t run more then $25.

Also the only thing you have to put together with the ones I linked is attach the switch to the mount using the provided zip ties to achieve the water level you want. For only $39 it sure seems like a deal but then again I haven’t ordered from them yet but am seriously considering it for the price

They also have Double Switch ATO FOR $50.

Lastly if you are still set on getting the JBJ ATO the Aquatic-Store on ebay has it for $79 plus $10 in shipping
__________________

__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY auto top-off system Scoot DIY Projects 1 03-28-2007 05:57 PM
Water top off system - suggestions kimberly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-07-2007 10:19 PM
Auto top off system drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 05-22-2006 04:01 AM
Filtration System Recommendation? jmeunier General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-15-2004 06:21 AM
CO2 injection system recommendation yvonne Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 09-11-2003 09:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.