Tank /sump issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ttursi21

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I’m a newbie to the site and saltwater tanks.
I currently have an 85 gallon coffee table fish tank. It is viewed from 5 of the 6 sides. I’ve had it running for almost 2 years with power heads and live rock as my filtration and doing water changes weekly. After losing a bunch of fish, I decided to clean house and start fresh but with a huge twist/project. I spent weeks research on what I needed and drawings of how to do this and move forward. I took the plunge and purchased a bunch of equipment. So I’ll explain what I did. And then explain the issue at hand. But from what I’ve been researching. I can’t seem to find out where I’m going wrong. So hopefully someone here has experienced this.

Ok,
So what I did for this project was. Starting with the R/O system was empty a coat closet about 8 feet away from my display tank. In that closet is where everything is going. My r/o system is installed in there with a water line running under the floor as well as a drain line for the r/o system. The r/o produces and the discharge water gets dumped into a condensate pump and that gets shot back to the kitchen sink where it’s tied into the drain below. The food r/o then gets pumped up and across the attic in an insulated covering to my office closet into a 20gallon pail. That Pail has a high and low sensor as well as a float switch and a leak detector on the floor. Once that Pail is filled I shut the r/o off and turn the ATO pump side on and then that pump pumps it back up and across back to the coat closet (where all the equipment is) and puts it into a 2.5 gallon eshoppes tank where that is gravity fed into my sump to maintain water level.