Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2013, 06:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
Water changer mod.

So I'm wondering if anyone here has ever modified their water changer to be able to just run a bottle of prime inline to auto dose as it fills. I've got the idea bouncing around in my head and now I'm kinda set on doing it. Was just curious if anyone has attempted this and either had success or failure. If it worked, was the cost worth it? If didn't work, do you know why and is it something that could be fixed?
__________________

__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
I think it would overdose the tank and its to expensive to use that much at one time.
__________________

__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 10:47 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
emerald76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,332
It could work if you do a little tiny bottle that you refill each time...
__________________
It's not a dumb question if you ask it.
Too many tanks? GASP! How could that be?
emerald76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:05 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
I was thinking about finding some kind of needle valve or regulator that works based off the Venturi effect, thus allowing me to tweak it to get proper dosage and not emptying the entire bottle.
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:11 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Just seems like to much work and money just to get the dosage right.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 11:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rlavassor86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by boadams87
Just seems like to much work and money just to get the dosage right.
Yea your probably right. I haven't priced anything yet. I was wanting to get some input first. I'd probably use up quite a bit if prime just trying to get it right.
__________________
Rlavassor86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:18 PM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 629
Why not just use a HMA filter then no need for prime at all

On my old 350 gal I used to drain 25% then dose the tank for 350 gal with prime and fill from the tap

Now i have 200 gal per day running into my 1000 gal with a over flow on my sump

A HMA will save you loads of money in the long run

If you look at this pic it's the unit on the bottom that looks like a RO unit but it just takes out the same as prime and no need to add minerals again

It can run 1000 gal of water per day so not slow like an RO unit
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2550113725.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	133.1 KB
ID:	142738  
__________________

__________________
T1KARMANN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.