Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > General Aquarium Forums > General Hardware/Equipment Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-30-2005, 01:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist

will this light setup suffice for my 125g?

Just picked up a used hood that has 3 175w MH's, and 2 96W PC's. I got that with ballasts (Custom Sealife) for 500. The guy told me that they were electric ballasts, but is there anyway to actually check? I opened the one up the other day and had no clue whatsoever as to what I was looking at. Anyways, I digress, what I really want to know is wheather this will work for my reef setup that I am gradually building up. I don't know yet what I will want to keep, but what I'd like to know is if there is anything that I won't be able to keep. Thanks!!![/i]

Old 07-30-2005, 03:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

i'm a noob but i think that's plenty from what i've read.

Old 07-30-2005, 03:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

How old are the bulbs that came with it? you shold be able to keep what ever you want under that amount of light.
What did the guy you bought it from have in his tank??

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 04:19 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

That's a decent lighting system for a 125. The only issue will be light penetration w/ only 175w MH's over such a big, deep tank. I think 250's would be ideal. True high light corals and clams, such as brightly colored SPS and Crocea clams, will have to be kept in the upper portions of the rock work-probably at least mid-level maybe higher IMO/IME.
EDIT: 175w are single ended bulbs right?
Old 07-30-2005, 05:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist