Anna's 26g Planted Re-scape Project Journal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Oohitsae

Aquarium Advice Addict
This tank has been up and running for about 8 months now, but I just got into plants about 4 months ago, so I am still learning.

I started this tank as a community tank for dalmation mollies, rosy barbs, and peppered cories, but it has turned into a betta sorority tank since then.

Specs:
26 gallon Bowfront
24" aqueon t-8 full spectrum 15w 6500k
Aquaclear 50

Current inhabitants are::
6 Female Bettas, 5 Cories (3 peppered, 2 albino, the albino are being re-homed), and 7 Tiger Endlers who are in there temporarily.

I have a ton of different types of plants, the list is::
Nana Vallisneria, sunset bacopa, bacopa carolinia, pygmy chain sword, vallisneria gigantea (tape), crypt balansae, crypt parva, crypt petchii, crypt wendtii, mayaca fluviatilis, a random species of rotala, najas, wisteria, pennywort, moneywort, regular and lace java fern, amazon sword, java moss, anarchis, frogbit, giant duckweed, aquatic banana, and a few unknown plants.

Current Hardscape::
1 Piece malaysian driftwood & unknown type of rock-cave

Things I have on the way::
Tons of dwarf saggitaria, some apongenton plants, lava rock, zebra rock, and a couple more medium sized peices of driftwood.

Now, what I'm sure you have all been waiting for, pictures of my progress! :)

First real attempt
img_2370116_0_fc9e7aa15ae846505209a31b46ec4845.jpg

When I started thinking of how I'd like to change things up, and before I got more plants, this is what I came up with
img_2370116_1_6195e85f07aa5929bbc2737554431d31.jpg

This is what the tank looks like now
img_2370116_2_94a8bb36d4d10b326067798f8db6ca12.jpg

Goals:
1. change out the clown puke substrate!!
Going to go with soil with a sand cap. Still undecided whether I'll go with pool filter or blasting sand...