Planted 50 gallon w/ snails

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AW05

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
IMG_1476670246.674927.jpg

Best food for snail?
Best water quality?
Anything that I should know because my LPS didn't really know much on snails. "I'm new to planted tanks and snails"

View attachment 290080

Best food for snail?
Best water quality?
Anything that I should know because my LPS didn't really know much on snails. "I'm new to planted tanks and snails"
Hi,
Is this just a snail tank? I adore my snails lol I keep mystery, nerites, tylos, ramshorn, trumpet, colombians and lava. All my tank's have them.
Weekly water changes are a must, these guy's like to poop lol add calcium like a piece of cuttlebone or calcium block. Feed calcium rich food for their shell's, spinach, kale, butternut squash and pumpkin! They eat most veg and fruit but some will need blanched first. Hikari crab cuisine and dennerle snail stixx has high calcium in it. They just eat anything! Algae wafers, fish food etc.
Keep the water level lower by a couple of inches incase they leave egg sacs.
PH is best between 7-8 for their shell's to stop erosion.
Hope some of this helps and would love to see Snaily pic's [emoji222]

All snails "nerite" and planted. Oh at least that's was my LPS said they were when I got them. I do weekly water changes but lately some of the snails foot thing that covers them when they go into their shell seem to be getting thin and falling off then snail dies.. I have cuttlebone in tank weekly and I feed alge wafers and sinking pellets. I also use api calcium and Kent calcium. I'm at a loss with this. Ph 7.4-7.6 ammonia 0 not sure where the others should be not much online or at least I can't find it.

The snail's look like mystery snail's, have you checked your Gh/ Kh? What's your parameters? maybe you have high nitrates?