Baby Platys

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WayBel2004

Aquarium Advice Regular
While vacuuming today I spotted some baby platys or what I assume are platy's because they're orange like my platy's. They're about the size of the tip of a match and now seem to be hiding under some plants and rocks in the corner of the tank. I don't have another tank set up for them and would like to know what to do to care for them:

How fast do they grow? Special foods? Do I need to feed more often?

Should I throw the baby fish food in when I feed the others in the morning? Or should I wait until lights out because they're hiding?

OK. Thank you. Do you know how fast they grow? I'm wondering how long before they can stop hiding and come out in the open?

Sorry so many questions but I'm new to fish and very new to baby fish.

When I had a batch of baby Mollies (similar fish) it took about 3-4 weeks for them to grow to about the length of a staple - and that's when they'd start coming out to play.

They may come out soon or later, depending on what else you have in the tank (they're more likely to hide from other fish, but will come out and play with the adult Platys)

I use finely ground flakes for my fry. Just be sure to feed them daily and they'll be fine.

Thanks a bunch. I didn't get the baby flakes yet so I crushed up some of my regular flake and put that in this morning. They are still hiding but I saw 3 of them quickly this morning.

I thought the adult platy's would try and eat them? I just assumed that's why they were in hiding.

Cannibalism like that is more likely if the adults aren't being fed that much, but you'll find that if you keep feeding them normally (and adults tend to enjoy snacking on some of the babys' food) - they shouldn't bother actively hunting down the babies.