should i protect jack dempsey eggs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

willy1094

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all! I'm new to jack dempseys and got a surprise last night in the form of a lot of eggs. Well, there is a catfish in the tank. Mom and dad was running it off but it kept getting a little bite now and then so i covered the eggs with clear tupperware with holes drilled into it. My question is, should i have done this or do the parents need to be able to get to the eggs? I plan on uncovering them when they hatch and let nature take it's course. Mom and dad are still standing by protecting the eggs so they still know they are there. Any help please. Also, i did this because i do not have another tank to but them in.
Thanks again

img_862376_0_c9ff34e02a0618053e4a1e470af104ba.jpg

Last edited:
top pic is of eggs in the container with holes... some are white but very few. then a picture of the other fish and then mom and dad. They are all in a 120 gallon tank.

Congrats on the eggs! I don't know anything about the care of them, but I'm sure someone here will be able to help you. Good luck! :)

Jack Dempseys are excellent parents, and yes, they need to be able to get to the eggs to remove the white (infertile and fungused) eggs before the entire clutch is lost. Your major, major problem is you have other fish in with the parents. Yes, they can guard the eggs and fry admirably, but only during the day. At night, they are defenseless, and in a short time the catfish and other Dempseys will have eaten all the fry.
Your only choice would be to remove the other fish if you want to have any fry to raise. Do so when the room is darkened, like by curtains, and the tank and room lights are off. Wait about an hour after the room and tank are darkened for the fish to relax before you start removing them.