We have eggs!!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GorJess

Aquarium Advice Regular
My kribs that I've had now for a week have laid eggs... The female keeps going over to the eggs and putting her mouth on them.. What is she doing??
The male is in another cave and keeps chasing away any other fish that go near the other cave with the female and the eggs.
This is my first time with these kribs they have both came from a different shop so it's thier first time spawning together. The eggs are light brown and there is about 40-50. What do u think the chances are of these eggs hatching? I can't catch my catfish do u think he will be a problem??
I noticed when i saw her today she was breathing really fast and I was worried about her., is this normal behavior when spawning??
So please tell me 1. Do the eggs have a high success rate as its their first time spawning
2. Her breathing really fast is that normal?
3. Why is he in a different cave than her but also protecting her cave?
4. Will the catfish be a problem?
5. Do I need to remove either of the parents?
6. Any other info at all u can give me in regards to kribensis eggs, fry, duration , success rate...
Thanx in advance ;)

OK, first congrats, sounds like the eggs are fine. Her mouthing them is likely to clean off anything that settles. The male is likely in the other cave because the brooder cave is too small or he is inexperienced. You never said what type of cat fish you have but regardless that likely spells trouble. If you can move it just for a few days that will help. Leave both parents in as they will gaurd the eggs and fry. The eggs from what you have said likley, -85% chance,- will hatch. Mom and Dad may get a lot meaner protecting them as time goes on.