Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-29-2007, 01:55 PM   #61
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I'm running Norton. I used AA this morning at 7 AM and had the error. I just used it at 11:50 and no error. BTW, mine is set at 30 minutes but it's clearly over 30 minutes.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 01:34 AM   #62
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
Virus / Spyware at AA???

For the last couple weeks, I've been getting warnings about a virus or a trojan spyware when I log onto AA. This happens about half the time & always involve some file at the temp internet cache. Once I deleted the file, I can browse the forums without further problems, until the next time I sign on.

This had happened on both my computers, one running AVG & SpyCatcher, and the other F-Secure, so it is unlikely a quirk in the AV program. It is something related to the AA site, as I never had this when visiting other sites.

Also, the problem seemed to ahve started with me upgrading to IE7. Never had this before with IE6.

Is anyone having the same problem? I am thinking it might have something to do with the auto-logon system, or maybe one of the ads ....

Ideas?
__________________

__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 01:59 AM   #63
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Blazeherd2306's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: U.S.
Posts: 2,238
That has never happened to me...
__________________
Blazeherd2306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 02:17 AM   #64
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
Moved to Site Help/Feedback.

Another thread to discuss this problem can be found here:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=99030
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 08:31 AM   #65
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
**Merged with original discussion so as not to clutter the forum with the same topic**
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 09:29 PM   #66
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fearlessfisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 688
I am still getting it, not only on the main page, but on the forum pages, too. My antivirus says it is blocking a downloader, and I get a message that remote data access is being attempted.

I hope this will be fixed soon. I miss coming here, but I worry about what my antivirus might NOT be catching.
__________________
joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
________________________________
55, 30, 30, 20, 10, and 10-gal. freshwater tropical tanks
fearlessfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2007, 09:32 PM   #67
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 150
Send a message via MSN to Gundy
Yeah I hope this gets fixed. I was out of town this past weekend and was using my parents' laptop for awhile to check some sites - this being one of them. Took me 3 hours to completely rid the trojan off that pc.

I am not really bothered with it at home because it is MY computer. However I think this needs to be addressed.
__________________
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 09:36 AM   #68
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
It is being addressed. Our Admin is working hard to try and find out where the problem is. Be patient. As he stated previously, if he makes one wrong change in the code and it could take down AA.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 10:31 AM   #69
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ont,Canada
Posts: 2,755
I too, have had it happen. Right now i have an "exploit" that AVG keeps finding and can't heal.
__________________
Join a fish club. Don't have one in your area? Start one.
BillD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 12:52 PM   #70
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
The one good thing about this entire problem is that the viruses all appear to be ones that have been around for awhile. As such, as long as your computer is up to date with the security patches, then your PC won't be affected by the viruses.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Page Format Change? Purrbox Forum Admin & Announcements 3 03-10-2007 10:44 PM
!!!!Update to the Main Page!!! fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 0 11-08-2002 10:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.