10g fishless cycling - Couple of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mercedes3681

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! I'm new to fish keeping, I was thrown into it when my daughter brought home a goldfish. The fish promptly died, but I had already bought a 10g tank and all the accessories so we bought another one. I thought I knew what I was doing after massive amounts of googling and reading on these forums, but apparently not, as I soon discovered the water conditioner I was using (Tetra SafeStart) was not the best option. Our little goldfish died of ammonia poisoning and I refuse to get more fish until I figure out this nitrogen cycle business!

I have gotten loads of information just from reading these forums and once my tank is cycled I'm looking into getting a few rasboras or ember tetras and maybe a few pygmy corys.

After the last goldfish died I emptied the tank, rinsed the gravel, plants, changed the filter, and added fresh tap water treated with Seachem Prime. That was 14 days ago, the tank's been running and I haven't touched it since.

Now that I've finally gotten an API liquid test kit, I have a few specific questions that I hope someone can answer for me:

My tap water is 7.6 pH but the tank is at 8.4. Why? Should I worry about it? From what I understand the actual pH doesn't matter so much, it's the fluctuations that hurt fish. But 8.4 seems high especially coming from a 7.6 tap?

My current tank readings are:
Ammonia 0.50 ppm
Nitrite 0.25 ppm
Nitrate 10-20 ppm

I noticed a week ago that the filter (which I changed when I emptied the tank 2 weeks ago) was full of greenish stuff but today it's practically spotless. Why?

What do I do now? Just continue to test and wait until the ammonia and nitrites are at 0 and nitrates are at 40 ppm?