10g sparkling gourami log from a nervous fishkeeper

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gabysapha

Aquarium Advice FINatic
This is my first time keeping a "sensitive" fish, particularly one that does NOT prefer my water. This is a log for my logging benefit and for other aquarists with very hard alkaline water interested in keeping tropical fish! ;)

The tank:
A 10g tank set up and cycled using filter media from my other tanks, will be a species-only tank for sparkling gouramis, Trichopsis pumila.

Very low light, heavily planted with water wisteria and java moss. Some driftwood that has yet to sink, tied to stones to weigh it down. I'm impatient with my new wood! ;)

Eco-complete substrate mixed with black gravel (I don't recommend this look!). Dead hardwood leaves scattered on the bottom.

HOB Whisper 10 filter, crammed with filter media to slow the flow of water. Nylon stocking over the filter intake. I do that with all of my filters.

Temp: 80-82 degrees. May fall to 78 degrees if it gets really cold in the house when someone accidentally turns off the central heat.

Parameters: ph 7.6 out of the tap, 8.4-8.6 after 24 hours in the tank!
Very hard water, calcium deposits on all water fixtures and on the insides of my tanks. not sure what the actual hardness is.

Other tanks: An empty 5g and numerous plastic containers for fish that need to be QTd or moved. Other fish in other tanks include blue platy fry and Endler fry, red cherry shrimp (thanks jetajockey!), pearl gourami, harlequin rasboras, peppered cories, albino cories, skunk cories, 6 mystery snails that I'm trying to breed.

My background: Keepings tanks on a college student budget in my tiny apartment.

The fish and my project: