14 gallon BioCube Suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Try-na

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a used 14 gal BioCube & it has already been a successful reef tank. Now it's my turn. I don't have ANY experience. I do have friends that will help me along the way but I want some suggestions. Keep in mind I have zero experience (freshwater only & pretty good at it).

I've been searching nano tanks both FOWLR & reef & I really prefer the look of the reef. I know that if I started a FOWLR it would eventually become a reef anyway. So would you start FOWLR & slowly change it to reef or would you start with a reef look knowing that's where you'll end up?

I'm thinking that constantly adding frags & renoing the tank with fish in it would be stressful & hard on the fish. If I had a fairly established reef then added fish would it be better?

Now what stock? It's only a 14g so not much will fit although after my research I've seen some pretty crowded tanks that look ridiculous if you ask me! I like weird & colorful. Things I've seen that I like... Mandarin Goby of course but I'm pretty sure I'm not ready that level of difficulty. I like purple firefish, most gobys, sexy shrimp, Pom Pom crabs, Pygmy angels.... So many to choose from that I have no idea which way to go. If you had a 14g what would your dream stock list be?

I would be sure to get the correct lights if you even have an inkling of doing coral, because that allows you to have the option. i think you should do coral :)

the Pygmy angel might be a little big for a 14 gallon, but I have no personal experience on that fish so maybe someone else will chime in :)