29g oceanic biocube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sterling

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everybody, Im new to the saltwater aquarium. Me and my gf just started a 29G oceanic biocube thats about two months old. I would love for someone to help me in understanding the benefits and disadvantages to have the biocube as compared to other aquariums. Is there anything that we should get for the aquarium in particular.
thanks very much for your help and concern, sterling and crystal

PS>>> many more thoughts and questions to come

I have a biocube 14 gal. With a nano ( your right on the cusp with a 29g) just make sure your right on with your levels when doing water changes as slight fluctuations are more apparent to your saltwater enviroment then larger tanks.

Hi ,
I had to make the same decision a month ago. All in one unit vs build your own set up. I found the aesthetic beauty of a all in one ( Bio Cube type tank ) for me was a huge benefit . I went with the Aquapod 24, same thing though. It has all I need which I have learned is much of nothing at all. See , all I am going to use as filter media is the live rock in the tank along with live rock rubble in the rear compartment. I will have a heater back there , but that is it. No Bio balls, no filter sponges, no noodles, no nothing. I love the simplicity of this type of set up. I am adding Koralia water movers in the tank to keep water moving around. The lights on the tank will surfice most corals but your limited with a hooded tank unless it is metal halide lighting.

the Cons: more difficult to upgrade lighting, more difficult to add sump tank for added filteration, skimmer etc. Upgrades in size means you toss the whole tank and start over, being you wont have a standard hood, lights, sump,skimmer to use on next tank.