36 gallon bow front, stocking advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PikaBu

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I'm currently cycling my tank and deciding on my stock list but I'm new to some of these species so I wasn't sure about some things
I was thinking of getting

AquStockImage.php

The filtration status would still be at 120% so my filter should be able to handle the bio load

So some concerns I have are the bolivian ram and the honey gouramis
Everyone seems to be able to bring their fish back to the LFS but mine doesn't accept their fish back. They may not pre-sex their fish so I'm worried about aggression when I bring home 3 random ones. Can 3 honey gouramis live together peacefully regardless of their gender since I know they're the most peaceful gouramis. Also the rams I heard are social but if I can't sex them should I just stick to 1 or get the 3? Can males live together if there is no female to fight for? If they do sex them how many should I get, female to male ratio?

I was also interested in pearl gouramis but I heard they're social but get big so I don't think I can fit 3 in place of the honeys right? Can one exist with the 3 honeys?

1. See if you can find a new fish store. Or just ask if they would prefer you put the fish in the local water supply if they don't work for your tank.
2. Don't keep odd numbers of rams.
3. I would not keep multiple gourami in a tank your size, certainly not pearl.

You'll hopefully build stock slowly, which will allow you to get a feel for the dynamics.

Fun stuff! I look forward to seeing what you decide!

Would you say I should get 2 rams then, I don't think I have enough room for 4? I don't care for breeding but will they be peacefully when they don't pair off?