40 Gallon 1st timer setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jsmiller1986

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello All! Came across this site and I want to thank everyone for such great information you all have here.

I just got home with this tank. Got it on Craigslist for $75.00. It's just the 40 gallon tank and stand, nothing else. Wondering if this was a good deal and if I was better off getting a kit from my local Petsmart?? :confused:
I am totally new to aquariums but I want to set this up. I realize I'm going to need a filter and hood and lights. Where should I begin? I have a Petsmart down the road... I plan on going there later (after I clean this tank up). I plan on making this one a freshwater.

Any suggestions on exact products I should buy? Also any ideas on the costs?
Thanks!

Attachments

• 3n33of3lb5U55P15R5aa6501599884d951fe7.jpg
    3n33of3lb5U55P15R5aa6501599884d951fe7.jpg
    4 KB · Views: 7,025
I would go for a live planted aquarium. Look into Aquaclear filters. Like the 110. Go for T-5 lighting if you got the money.

Hello All! Came across this site and I want to thank everyone for such great information you all have here.

I just got home with this tank. Got it on Craigslist for $75.00. It's just the 40 gallon tank and stand, nothing else. Wondering if this was a good deal and if I was better off getting a kit from my local Petsmart?? :confused:
I am totally new to aquariums but I want to set this up. I realize I'm going to need a filter and hood and lights. Where should I begin? I have a Petsmart down the road... I plan on going there later (after I clean this tank up). I plan on making this one a freshwater.

Any suggestions on exact products I should buy? Also any ideas on the costs?
Thanks!