40 gallon vs 55 gallon stocking options- why so different?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GrumpyGills

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm thinking of starting my first tank soon and I have some questions.

I am fairly certain that a 40 gallon tank is the right size for me. From what I have read, a 40 gallon breeder seems like the best option due to the dimensions being more favorable for a community of fish.

Part of me is disappointed that I won't be getting a 55 gallon though (which is not really going to be an option for me) since for some reason it seems like that is the threshold which opens up a ton of options for larger fish. I was wondering why this seems to be the magic number for fish larger than a few inches.

As a beginner I don't understand why the stocking lists I see for 40 gallons are for example a few dwarf cichlids, maybe 8 or so tetras, some bottom feeders like corys and then maybe another fish or two (notice all of these are small fish, 3 inches or less). Then I look at lists for 55 gallons, just 15 gallons more, and all of the sudden the tank can handle 12 cichlids which will grow to 6+ inches each. I went and looked at tanks today, and I was surprised at just how big a 40 gallon breeder looked, yet all of my fish options seem to be 3 inches or less.