5 gallon stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

courtanee

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys I'm getting a 5 gallon tank for free and I'm wondering what to stock it with. I was thinking of doing scarlet badis(male) with RCS(I dont mind if a couple get munched, in fact with scarlet badis that would probably be a good thing as they're more difficult to feed) and a couple of pygmy Cories. Is that way over stocked? I feel like it might be too much. even if I get a good filter and do water changes 2x a week.

How many badis and I'm not good with acronyms, what does RCS mean

Probably just one badis and rcs=red cherry shrimp :)

According to aqadvisor a 5.5 gallon with one badis, 5 RCS, and 4 cory's this what it says for stocking:

Warning: Pygmy Cory is not recommended for your tank - it may eventually outgrow your tank space, potentially reaching up to 1.2 inches
Warning: At least 4 x Pygmy Cory are recommended in a group.

Recommended temperature range: 23 - 27 C. [SIZE=-1][Display in Farenheit][/SIZE]
Recommended pH range: 6.3 - 7.
Recommended hardness range: 8 - 15 dH.

Recommended water change schedule: 18% per week.
Your aquarium stocking level is 108%.[SIZE=-1] [/SIZE]

I may be mistaken but I thought the minimum tank size for the badis was 20 gallons? If so I definitely would opt not to place it in the 5 gallon, I'd skip on the Pygmy cories as well. That's a lot of fish for a 5 gallon.

Well, it depends on how much u want the badis if so buy a 15 Minimum tank and put a betta in the 5 gallon

I may be mistaken but I thought the minimum tank size for the badis was 20 gallons? If so I definitely would opt not to place it in the 5 gallon, I'd skip on the Pygmy cories as well. That's a lot of fish for a 5 gallon.