55 gal planted tank....lots of new pictures 12/29/06

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newfound77951

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am new to AA....but am glad I found it! Lots of good advice. I am in the process of setting up a 55 gal planted tank, it's not quite done but thought I would post for others to see and maybe to get some feedback. Still have a few more plants to go (as soon as my aquariumplants.com order arrives) and the gap in the aquascaping is for a piece of driftwood that is taking it's sweet time to waterlog. Might put in a smaller piece from my 30 gal in the meantime. Also need a background, will do black craft paper to match the substrate. Right now all the stem plants are all about the same height so it's hard to get a nice layout until they start growing. I should be getting ferts this week so will start dosing then.

Here's the specs:
55 gal
2x96 W PC
AquaClear 70(300) with foam and 2 bags Biomax, no carbon
80 lbs Eco-complete
2 Red Sea Turbo Co2 (1 running now, will set up second to be on alternating 2 week yeast change schedule)

Plants so far:
Wisteria
Ambulia
Water Sprite (rooted and floating)
Sunset Hygro
Didiplis diandra
2 lg swords (E. cordifolius?)
2 compacta swords
dwarf hairgrass
giant hairgrass
Bacopa caroliniana
Osiris sword
Rotala indica

Waiting on:
Crinum calamistratum
Aponogeton crispus
red tiger lotus
Ozelot sword

Fish: mostly rainbows, plus the usual algae cleaning squad.

P1000187.JPG

Finally got some fish in...still need to re-aquascape after I get the algae under control. I'm getting there but at 4 wpg things happen REALLY fast!

Got 3 Otocinclus, 3 SAE's and 3 turquoise rainbows (Melanotaenia lacustris). So far the rainbows have eaten more algae than anything else. They pull it off the plants like it's a string of spaghetti...super fun to watch!