65 G new planted/first planted. Any advice is appreciated!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Travis P

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have had my aquarium up and cycling for a little over 3 weeks now and have the water levels balanced and building good bacteria. An overview of what I am running: 65 Gallon planted with fluval 406 filter biostars added. DIY co2 with 3 2L bottles with bubble counter. Trinity T5 HO lighting 4x36, 39 watts each. 2 bubls are 10,000k and other 2 are 6700k. Flourite substrate with moonlight sand over substrate. I have been adding flourish,flourish excel, and iron. Planted yesterday DHG, DBT, pogostem erectus, jungle val, red and green cabombas, and a little java moss. Fish are 4 Angel fish, 3 Silver Dollars, 3 mollys, 30 neon tetras.

I am new to the planted tank and would like any kind of advice as to if I should adjust anything with my setup or add something different. So far results have seemed well. Fish are all happy, water levels are balanced. Not sure if I should trim the plants right after planting or not. Im wanting the foreground to be carpeted for the most part by DHG and a path of DBT. Aquarium is still cloudy for all the action it got yesterday with the plants.

At any rate I'm new to Aquarium Advice but have enjoyed the info that is on here.

Travis

I keep trying to upload some photos but am having trouble. Hopefully I will get some up soon.

Travis

ForumRunner_20130105_110921.jpg

ForumRunner_20130105_110929.jpg

Pics on day 2, sorry for the glare. I'll add some later when there is no glare.

The silver dollars are plant eater and will eat your plants. I strongly suggest removing them sooner than later. You did a nice job on your first scape!