A (most likely dumb) plant question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kellie

Aquarium Advice Activist
This is my first time doing a "real" planted tank, I'm sticking to the recommended easy to grow plants. They have been in the tank about a week, everything is looking great. My question is this... I've decided I want to put some really awesome wood I bought where I located some of the plants, the ones in question are java fern and anubis. Once they've been planted can they be moved without damaging the roots? Is sooner better then later? Or is this a non issue and can I move them whenever I want? And one more stupid question do the plants need to be kept away from the heater? My last aquariums were during the popularity of the under gravel filter and I've only ever had floating plants before.

Thanks,
Kellie

U can attach them anytime. Once they develop longer roots, they can become more difficult to remove, but it can be done. Best bet is to get them where u want them, sooner the better, so they can get a chance to grow.

i have an anubis by the heater and it does fine, ialso just put plant weights to my ferns and have them in hole of dw or behind rocks to not show the weights

I move my plants all the time(freaking Beavis and Butthead, my 2 Bumblebee cats keep up rooting them)

I had anubis in the sand for a while, but when I tied it to my DW it started to really grow(Little Shop of Horror type of growing!)

Just be careful when you dig them out, I run my fingers under them to the bottom of the tank and gently push them up. I also trim the roots when I replant them, but I dont think you have to do that

i have an anubis by the heater and it does fine, ialso just put plant weights to my ferns and have them in hole of dw or behind rocks to not show the weights