A newbie 60L 'FISHLESS CYCLE LOG'

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jts123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

Thought I'd share my 'Fishless' Cycle with you. (I will make on-going updates & edits to THIS post, as time goes on).
As this is my first attempt at fishkeeping for myself, trust you will please bare this in mind if I apprear to be making any 'classic newbie' mistakes during this process.

Without any Ammonia readily available at DAY 1 I thought I would start things off via the 'Fish Food' method and see how it goes for now, as I have read that some people have successfully cycled using 'food' as a means to start the good bacteria growth with.

TANK SPECS:
SIZE: 60 Litres (13 UK Gallon) - w60cm x d30cm x h35cm
HEATING: 100W Heater
FILTRATION: Marina S15 'HOB' Filter
SUBSTRATE: Standard & Micro (sand) Gravel mixture
DECOR/ADDITIONS: x1 Resin Plastic Immitation Rock Cave + x1 Small Ornimental Rock
TEST KIT: API MASTER TEST (FRESHWATER LIQUID BOTTLES)
TAP WATER: PH= 7 to 7.2 AMMONIA= 0.25ppm

LOG:
DAY-------- TEMP----- AMMONIA----- NITRITE----- NITRATE----- PH--------- ADDITIONAL NOTES--------------------------------------------------------------
DAY1------- 29c------ 0.25------------ 0.0----------- 5.0------------ 7.2-------- x1 Pinch of Food flakes added.
DAY2------- 30c------ 0.25------------ 0.25--------- 10.0---------- 7.6-------- x1 Pinch of Food Flakes added.
DAY3------- 30c------ 0.50------------ 0.50--------- NO TEST----- NO TEST- x1 Pinch of Food Flakes added.
DAY4------- 30c------ 2.00------------ 0.50--------- NO TEST----- NO TEST- With rise in AMMO decided to add 34ml of 'CYCLE' to speed bacteria build? NO FOOD TODAY.
DAY5------- 30c------ 0.50------------ 0.50--------- NO TEST----- NO TEST- 15ml 'CYCLE' added, plus x1 Pinch of Food Flakes.