About to place order on Amazon, am I missing anything?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sgtdap

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I am starting my first tank which is a 35g (36x20x12in). I have an API Master kit, Jager 125w Heater, SeaChem Prime, Aqueon siphon and water changer, and All Glass Aquarium canopy to cover the tank (I have the basic flourescent still from the previous owner) in my Amazon cart. I already purchased a AquaClear70 filter (petsmart matched petco's price which was cheaper than Amazon right now!). Am I missing anything that I will need to start my tank cycle? I am off on Friday and will be starting all this then.

Thanks for the advice!

EDIT:
Forgot to mention I am going to purchase play sand from Home Depot and use that as my substrate!

Last edited:
Sounds pretty complete. Maybe a variety of fish foods. I guess that might depend on your stocking list. Maybe a thermometer?
I'm sure something will pop into your head AFTER you hit the SUBMIT button.

Don't use play sand! Use pool filter sand. You might want a bubble wand, air pump, fish food, pure ammonia (for fishless cycling), and a stand.

Cycling 45 Gallon. ???

Maybe some water conditioner if you don't have any... Or if you plan on keeping plants in your aquarium maybe a cheap t-5 ho fixture that could grow most plants. And maybe some filter media to keep spare.

Maybe some water conditioner if you don't have any... Or if you plan on keeping plants in your aquarium maybe a cheap t-5 ho fixture that could grow most plants. And maybe some filter media to keep spare.

He says he has seachem prime x)

Cycling 45 Gallon. ???