About to throw in the towel against BGA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jsoong

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have been fighting bad BGA for at least a couple years now. The type I have is brown to black, so may be Red Slime Algae is a better name. It forms a thick matted sheet over everything & killing my plants (and maybe even fish ....)

I though I had fight it at least to a draw .... but over the summer I am losing .... badly. In the spring, I was throwing out handfuls of Vals, hygro & hornwort .... things seems to be under control & plants are growing like weeds. Well, in the last months, plants are dying ... All the hygro had disappeared, and even the trusty hornwort had shrunk to a fraction of the former self. I am manually removing BGA from the leaves every few days just to keep the remaining plants alive ... this is getting out of hand.

What I have tried so far:
1. Manipulating the light cycle - more light, less light, a couple hr break in mid day ... <Total blackout trial - needs 2+ weeks to kill a sample on rocks ... don't think my plants or fish will survive that.>
2. New light bulbs - 4x32W T8 6200K Day light
3. Excel - can't do the overdose, as the Vals & hornwort melts
4. More ferts, less ferts, no ferts .... Currently trying to maintain 5 of NO3 with KNO3, about 0.1 ppm weekly of Fe & traces.
5. pwc's - currently 25% every other week - more or less doesn't seem to help.
6. H2O2 - Tried just dipping the anubias ... leaves melted completely, algae remains .... Dosing in tank - no change.
7. Changing water flow - With a wet/dry & cool water, I should have lots of O2 ... but even aiming the entire 750 gph at one spot doesn't help.