AFB and otos

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

maxima423

Aquarium Advice Addict
do you guys think a full grown oto and a african butterfly fish will get along well?
anyone have experience with these two fish in the same tank

i have no experience with them, but i know otos are pretty small, like 2", and the butterfly fish is a carnivore. sounds to me like an oto would be a nice snack.

i was thinking about that as well, the LFS guy said that they would get along fine, i just wanted to check with you guys/girls before i do my final planning for my tank

They'll get along fine until the butterfly gets hungry and has opportunity. ;)

It could work for a year or more. It could work for 30 seconds. The ABF is a very fascinating and efficient ambush hunter. If it can fit in the mouth, it eventually will. Are you set on otos? What size tank are you working with?

Well I would say that probably isn't a good match, based on the other replies here lol. Smart of you to do some more research. I remember going into petsmart and the guy tried selling me allkinds of stuff for my 10g, including a common pleco and some tiger barbs... now I konw there are some decent lfs' out there but they are far and few between. ABF is a gorgeous fish :)

i am working with a 55g, its going to be surrounded with lots of driftwood placed in weird angles, i have a outline lol... the problem of course is finding the specific driftwood. the stock i am going to go with are either:

1) dwarf puffers ( 2-3 )
otos ( around 7-8 ) i read otos and DP's go well together

2) african butterfly fish
and anything that can go with it mostly ( still doing research )

3) Tiger Oscars only
if i do this, i really dont want to decorate lol, mainly cause i want to showcase the tiger oscar