algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jwh0818

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have algae in my 20g tank. It's ugly can yall I.D. it and help me kill it all? Yes my tank looks filthy. I uprooted everything to trim all algae and I have miracle grow organic soil topped with PFS so it gets messy! Please do help me!!!!

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20140203_183643.jpg
    ForumRunner_20140203_183643.jpg
    46.1 KB · Views: 64
  • ForumRunner_20140203_183750.jpg
    ForumRunner_20140203_183750.jpg
    42.1 KB · Views: 76
I'm no expert but it looks like hair algae, try spot treating with liquid co2, how long are you leaving your lights on and are you over feeding. An algae eater might help but you need to figure out why you are getting it. Try cutting back your lights.

I'm no expert but it looks like hair algae, try spot treating with liquid co2, how long are you leaving your lights on and are you over feeding. An algae eater might help but you need to figure out why you are getting it. Try cutting back your lights.

My lights are on 5-6 hours a day and I skip turning them on somedays. I only feed every 2 days and I watch them devour everything

Edit* I did cut all the plants out that had it, did a 70% water change, and scrubbed it off the driftwood in there. Ive been battling it for months now maybe 4.

What lights, fertilizers, and carbon source are you running on the tank?

One other thing, don't limit the nutrients in the tank as an attempt to control algae. It will only limit the plant growth and make your problem worse. Go back to a more normal feeding schedule.

What lights, fertilizers, and carbon source are you running on the tank?

One other thing, don't limit the nutrients in the tank as an attempt to control algae. It will only limit the plant growth and make your problem worse. Go back to a more normal feeding schedule.