All in one 'ready made' reef tank or tank with separate sump and equipment?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

geordieboi

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone,

This is my first post and i'm just hoping for some good honest info as i have read hundreds of websites etc and still can't make a decision.

I had a FOWLR tank when i was about 20 but went to work away so only had it about 8 months ... i know the basics (what i remember) but i am going to start again as a complete novice because i want to go reef!

My initial request is for opinions on whether to buy a purpose built ready made reef tank such as the redseamax 250 (example only) or buy a tank and sump and customise the setup by choosng separate equipment.

both seem to have pro's and con's and i'm a little torn.

Any feedback would be welcome

thanks guys :)

I wouldn't definitely put it all together separate. The all in ones are nice but super hard to customize down the road.

If I could do one thing with my tank, it would be having it drilled. My CPR overflow does a good job, but it looses siphon every couple of months when the hole where the aqua lifter hooks on gets clogged with algae. I have the tank set up for this and it won't overflow...but it's a peace of mind thing along with it lowering my salinity, which I want to be as stable as everything else. Get a drilled/reef ready tank.