Am I ready for a reef aquarium?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tristan65

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

I'm considering buying a tank to start a reef aquarium. I'm reading my first book (Saltwater aquariums for dummies) -- and plan to read others. I've started going to stores in New York to find information on tanks, fish available, etc. Basically, I'm doing my research before buying.

The manager of a petstore told me yesterday that I might be a bit too ambitious to start with a reef aquarium that will include fish and invertebrates since I've never had an aquarium (except when I was a child but my parents took care of it...). He suggested that I start with a freshwater tank and graduate to salt water when I have some experience. The problem is I'm only interested in salt water species (I also do scuba diving)!

Can I succeed as a beginner with a reef tank? Should I start with a fish only tank and add invertebrates later on? Is that possible and a good idea? I'm willing to commit the time necessary to make this work (since a reef tank is really what I want) but I also want to be realistic.

I started looking at 55G tanks but after a bit of research it seems like I would have more room in a 75G for the reef so I may go with that.

Also, how does one move an established aquarium? I don't plan on moving anytime soon but I'd rather consider this possibility ahead of time instead of when it arises.

Many thanks for your help!!

Hi Jean,

Here is one opinion for you:

May I assure you, with your enthusiasm and the dedication in time you plan to spend with this hobby, there is no way I could say anything but... GO FOR IT. You will do wonderfully. And go all the way... coral reef and fish!