Anyone know much about eels??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RobbFErwin

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I was hoping for some general info on eels for a community tank. Does anyone know of any eels or eel-like fish that would be suitable for a 25 gallon 18x18x18 cube tank?

Hi RobbFErwin,

Welcome to AA!

I'm not an expert on eels, and to my knowledge, there is not a true FW eel species. The biggest offender to this is the so called Freshwater Moray Eel (Gymnotorax Tile). Although it can be found in FW occasionally, it would need brackish conditions to thrive. Further, an adult specimen would need a larger tank than what you have.

With that said, there are some eel-like fish that you can consider that would work in a tank your size and in a community fish environment. Take a look at the kuhli loach or java loach. There's also the dojo loach, and the weather loach. Although I think these other loaches may need larger tanks.

Another eel-like FW species are polypterus. Although, I believe even with the smaller variety of these fish, they can grow up to a foot or more, so you'd need a much larger tank.

Hope this helps! :)

You may also want to look at the knife fish. I think they kinda look like eels.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Kuhli loaches resemble an eel and would be good for your tank. There are some fw elonged fish, but not really very many for the tank size your are looking at. I have some red sumo loaches which are not nearly as long as kuhli, but still have an elongated body type and are pretty darn cute. Unfortunately, nothing springs to mind beyond that for your tank size.

Welcome to the form, here are some suggestions...I hope this helps

the kuhlis are max. 4 inches and it is suggested the be housed in a 50 gallon, they need space to swim.