Aquaria Theme Assignment - College Global Citizenship

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alyxandria

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Okay guys and gals! I have a class this semester that is requiring I work as a Global Citizen and participate in helping a foundation that I am passionate about. It's a huge project that accounts for the majority of my grade. I figured the best place to get advice and look around for ideas would be a forum where everyone shares my passions! Hopefully I can get some of you guys on board with me as well since my professor has part of our grade as a documentation section. So perhaps I will include this forum post. :)

So the project is based on helping a global or local foundation through either fundraising, awareness, petitions, etc. I've been researching foundations and I've found one I think I really like.

Adopt a Coral: this foundation allows for donations as well as an adopt a coral option. The single coral option is $50 so I think the end goal would be to see how many I can get adopted. I'm not expecting much but it's the effort that counts - in my opinion.

I would make some sort of pin at my booth in the college for donating that they can wear or a sticker saying they donated or something.

I'm wondering if I should have some sort of sale where they can purchase items such as those rubber arm bands saying some sort of slogan. I'll look up the price of those and what kind of markup I can apply.

I also want to have some sort of participation that is non-donating as fundraising isn't the point of the project and well, college students don't always have spare change. I was thinking perhaps a pledge to more conscious living and efforts to preserve the reefs that I'll get students to sign.