Are smaller tanks harder to keep?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

callisto9

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm fairly new to fish-keeping, but I already have a history of five dead guppies behind me.

I have a six gallon tank. Water changes every week. Last parameters were:
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 10ppm
Ammonia: 0

This tank has been running for about a month now.

Am I fighting an uphill battle here? We just don't have the room for a larger tank anywhere and I really like the smaller tanks.

Anyone successfully keeping smaller tanks?

Smaller tanks can be kept very easily you just have to monitor water quality a little closer since the water will become polluted quicker. You couldn't go any larger like a 20 gallon?

Smaller tanks can be kept very easily you just have to monitor water quality a little closer since the water will become polluted quicker. You couldn't go any larger like a 20 gallon?

I definitely can put the time and effort into monitoring water quality.

We really don't have the space for anything larger, unless we take something out of our house. Our house is 700SF and we have two larger bird cages in the livingroom. This tank sits on our kitchen table, but even so, we had to brace the table since it's old and small. Believe me, I'd LIKE something bigger, I just can't find a spot for it.

Guppys really shouldn't be housed in tanks smaller then 20 gallons definetly not under 10. Youll want to stick with nano fish or an invert tank which you could browse fish for a tank that size on liveaquaria.com to get an idea.

Guppys really shouldn't be housed in tanks smaller then 20 gallons definetly not under 10. Youll want to stick with nano fish or an invert tank which you could browse fish for a tank that size on liveaquaria.com to get an idea.
Huh. Ok. I thought I'd read guppies (I only have three) were OK for a tank this size.