Beginning hobbiest here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HopefulHobbiest

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi, how goes it?

I'm just starting out again after having a small tank years ago (roughly age 11-13)... Needless to say I'm here for advice/help and I need all I can get...

Previously had a 20G and today upgraded to a 55G to hold my fish cause like an idiot I over populated my tank...

What I'm currently working with right now:

55G freshwater tank came as a starter kit (setup today so restarting the water cycle)
Top fin air pump 4000?

And as previously stated I currently have fish in it.

3 bala sharks, 2 angel fish, 2 green sail fin Molly, 2 Chinese algae eaters, 1 high fin pleco, 1 eclipse catfish, 4 platys, and a balloon belly Molly...

I'm probably still over populated considering the 1" per G rule.

I read all the manuals that came with the tank but aside from this it's very fair to say I know next to nothing..

Thank you

Matt

--------Edit

I've taken some time and read the information on several websites regarding water/nitrogen cycles and I'm still learning