Best LED for 30 Inch Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bruceanthony

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 30 gallon freshwater tank and I'm thinking about switching over to live plants soon, but my current light won't support live plant growth, so I need a new light. The tank is 30 inches long. I want to find a LED light that includes moonlight and allows me to control both with separate timers. So far, I've found this: Amazon.com: Marineland 24-Inch to 36-Inch Aquatic Plant LED Light with Timer: Pet Supplies But I'm fairly new to the hobby, so I wanted to ask some pros first. So in your opinion, what's the best light that meets all my criteria?? Thanks for the help!

P.S. I thought this looked good too, but as far as I can tell, there's no way to use timers with it. I would have to switch from daylight to moonlight manually. http://www.amazon.com/Finnex-FugeRa...ay+Planted++Aquarium+LED+Light+Plus+Moonlight

I have this exact same light on a tank. It is nice for the timer but it only gives me medium light. For less money than this Marineland you can get the Rolls Royce of LED's at this time. You can get the 30" BML High Light Dutch for $194. They are built like tanks and with a dimmer can be set from 10% brightness to 100%. Go to Buildmyled.com and check them out. I got to hold and see one in person and they are unbelievable. OS.

That BML light looks amazing, but it seems like the compatible controllers for it cost as much as the light. I wonder if there's a cheap controller that would work with it. All I would need to do is dim one channel. I can't justify buying a $200-$300 controller just for that.

I would do a Current USA Sattelite+ freshwater led. Great lights, has moonlight and tens of other fx, plus you can use the wireless remote. Good for low-med light plants for your tank, if you want higher get 2, or the add on strips.